Skip to content
Tags

My Soundtrack

September 6, 2011

1.  “Blister In the Sun”  by The Violent Femmes

I loved this song when I was in the seventh grade.  My best friend’s older brother played it for me on his record player in their refinished basement one afternoon.  The Violent Femmes, or “The Femmes” as we called them, were underground, cool and unknown to most of my classmates at Hillcrest Middle School in suburban Trumbull, Connecticut.  I felt very hip for liking this song.  I didn’t get what it was about, I just knew it was cool!

2.  “Starfish And Coffee”   by Prince

This song reminds me of going to my high school prom with one of my oldest friends, Joe.  He was a musician (not really, but he thought he was)and he introduced me to Prince.  Back then, Prince was very cool—an amazing performer and an excellent musician. I remember learning (from Joe) that, on this song, Prince recorded a drum beat and played it backwards to get the back beat for this song.  This whole album (called Sign O’ the Times) reminds me so much of my senior year in high school (1990-1991).

3.  “Mrs. Robinson” by Simon & Garfunkel

This song was part of the soundtrack of the movie The Graduate.  One of my English teachers showed us this film in class and I remember it very clearly.  The music, the actors, and my teacher’s obvious passion of the film made it a really memorable experience for me.  This particular teacher was one of the people who really inspired and encouraged me to become a teacher myself.  I associate this song with him and his class.

4.  “Feel Us Shaking” by The Samples

The Samples are the closest I ever came to liking The Grateful Dead.  While I was in college, one of my boyfriends gave me this tape, which I used to listen to a lot before falling asleep.  The music and words to this song, and the whole album really, are very soothing and melodic.  I recently downloaded the entire album and listening to it brought me right back to my freshman year at BU, falling asleep on my twin bed in Warren Towers!

5.  “You Can Get It If You Really Want” by Jimmy Cliff

My husband Rocky loves reggae music and, before meeting him, I really didn’t know too much about it.  When I first met him, he was still a DJ and he was mostly playing reggae and he ALWAYS played this song, which is part of the soundtrack for a movie called The Harder they Come.  Not only is this a great song from a great movie with a great soundtrack, but the words to this song are really inspiring.  When I first had my son Rocky, this was the CD we used to play when he was falling asleep.  Sometimes, he still asks us to play it for him at night.  He’s probably listened to it a thousand times—seriously!

From → writing

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 9/7 – 9/9 Assignments « English III

Leave a Reply

